top of page
nid de frelon tracteur 2_edited_edited.png
frelon asiatique

Asian Hornet

Vespa Velutina - Yellow-legged hornet

Arrival in Europe

Asian Hornet

The first Asian hornet would come from a geographical area located in China. And the Asian hornet would therefore have arrived via the maritime transport of Chinese pottery. Before arriving in Lot-et-Garonne, the place of his first identification, he would therefore have passed through the port of Le Havre.

Since their arrival in France in 2004, the Asian hornet has become a pest, which we are all working to exterminate. The species is classified nationally in the list of second category health dangers for the domestic bee Apis Melifera throughout France. . Asian hornet stings can be dangerous to humans like those of common hornets or wasps. It all depends on the person's responsiveness and the number of bites.

The Biological Cycle of the Asian Hornet

asian hornet life cycle
asian hornet's cocoon

It is in autumn (October to November) that the reproductive females of the new generation leave the nest in the company of the males to mate; they are the only ones to overwinter while the males, the last larvae and the workers die. In the spring (March to June), each founding queen drafts a new nest, lays a few eggs and takes care of her first larvae which will become, a month to a month and a half later – depending on the temperature -, adult workers capable of supporting nest building and colony maintenance. The queen will then devote the rest of her life to laying eggs. With the appearance of the workers, the activity of the colony intensifies considerably and the size of the nest increases, reaching its maximum in early fall (Rome et al., 2013b ;Rome et al., 2015,Villemant & Roma, 2017).

Fight against the Asian Hornet

The Asian hornet contributes to the disappearance of other species of insects, notably the bee. Without a predator, the Asian hornet continues to establish itself in the territory of Europe and strongly affects beekeeping and biodiversity.



If a nest is discovered, do not attempt to destroy it: even if it is small and easily accessible, the risk of being attacked by a swarm of workers is significant. Destroying a nest without the queen inside is the same as moving the nest - the queen will rebuild a nest and this time you may not find it.



Finally, the installation of homemade traps, known as bottle traps, should be prohibited. The latter have a significant impact on all insect populations present in this environment and are not effective in the fight against Asian hornets.

So, if Asian hornets have chosen to settle in your home, destroying their nest is a necessity.

To avoid acting alone and avoid risks, call on a specialized company - Solutions Natures 87 is at your service

OUR PRICES

bottom of page

top of page

Frelon Asiatique

Arrivée en Europe

Depuis leur arrivée en France, en 2004, le frelon asiatique est devenu un nuisible, que nous nous employons tous à exterminer. L'espéce est classée au niveau national dans la liste des dangers sanitaires de deuxième catégorie pour l'abeille domestique Apis Melifera sur tout le territoire français. . Les piqûres de frelons asiatiques peuvent être dangereuses pour les humains comme celles des frelons communs ou des guêpes. Tout dépend de la réactivité de la personne et du nombre de piqûres.

IMG-20210507-WA0093.jpg

Le premier frelon asiatique viendrait d’une zone géographique située en Chine . Et le frelon asiatique serait donc arrivé via le transport maritime de poteries chinoises. Avant d’arriver dans le Lot-et-Garonne, lieu de sa première identification, il aurait donc transité par le port du Havre.

Le Cycle Biologique du Frelon Asiatique

cocon de frelon asiatique

C’est en automne (octobre à novembre) que les femelles reproductrices de la nouvelle génération quittent le nid en compagnie des mâles pour s’accoupler ; elles sont les seules à hiverner tandis que les mâles, les dernières larves et les ouvrières meurent. Au printemps (mars à juin), chaque reine fondatrice ébauche un nouveau nid, pond quelques œufs et soigne ses premières larves qui deviendront, un mois à un mois et demi plus tard – selon la température -, des ouvrières adultes capables de prendre en charge la construction du nid et l’entretien de la colonie. La reine consacrera alors le reste de sa vie à pondre. Avec l’apparition des ouvrières, l’activité de la colonie s’intensifie considérablement et la taille du nid augmente pour atteindre son maximum au début de l’automne (Rome et al., 2013b ; Rome et al., 2015, Villemant & Rome, 2017).

Cycle_Vespa_velutina-Q_Rome_MNHN1.png

Lutte contre le frelon asiatique

Le frelon asiatique participe à la disparition d’autres espèces d’insectes, notamment l’abeille. Sans prédateur, le frelon asiatique continue à s'implanter sur le territoire de l'Europe et affecte fortement l'apiculture et la biodiversité.

En cas de découverte d’un nid, ne pas tenter de le détruire : même si celui-ci est de petite taille et facilement atteignable, le risque de subir l’attaque d’un essaim d’ouvrières est important. La destruction d'un nid sans la présence de la reine à l’intérieur équivaut à déplacer le nid - la reine va reconstruire un nid et cette fois-ci vous risquez de ne pas le trouver.

Enfin, l’installation de pièges artisanaux, dites pièges-bouteilles, est à proscrire. Ces derniers ont un impact important sur l’ensemble des populations d’insectes présentes dans ce milieu et ne se révèlent pas efficaces dans la lutte contre les frelons asiatiques.

Pour connaître mes tarifs, cliquez ICI

Contact
bottom of page